Key Award Winner Cindy Ference

“I just felt frustrated because I was hitting the same walls over and over again.”

When Cindy Ference saw that the King County Public Housing Authority was using a shadow organization to pass resolutions and take action on crucial public housing issues, she filed a public records request to get more information. That led to a blog on public housing issues and reforms in the KCPHA. She had help from WCOG President Toby Nixon and board member, Kathy George in her quest to make the board more transparent and open. READ MORE >

Transparency and public participation are building blocks of good government.

The Coalition was formed to act as an independent, non-partisan, non-profit organization dedicated promoting and defending the People's right to know in matters of public interest and in the conduct of the public's business. The Coalition's driving vision is to help foster open government processes, supervised by an informed and engaged citizenry, which is the cornerstone of democracy.

Featured News

Long-held Lindquist text told employee to arrange comments on TNT story

The News Tribune: January 5, 2016
By: Sean Robinson

or four years, in a legal fight that climbed to the Washington State Supreme Court and back, Pierce County Prosecutor Mark Lindquist has insisted that a text message he wrote in 2011 to one of his employees had nothing to do with public business…   READ MORE >

Navy sues Kitsap County to stop release of emergency plans

The Seattle Times: December 16, 2015
By: The Associated Press

BANGOR — The Navy is suing Kitsap County to try to stop it from releasing Naval Base Kitsap-Bangor emergency plans. The Kitsap Sun reports that the Navy filed the complaint Monday in U.S. District Court in Tacoma. The court on Tuesday issued a temporary restraining... READ MORE >

State disclosure watchdog sues Lindquist’s office

The News Tribune: December 16, 2015
By: By Sean Robinson

Add the state’s biggest public disclosure watchdog to the chorus of litigants taking aim at Pierce County Prosecutor Mark Lindquist’s office. The nonprofit Washington Coalition for Open Government filed suit Monday against Pierce County, accusing Lindquist and his staff of violating the state’s public disclosure... READ MORE >

State gave Boeing a free pass on $19.5M in sales tax

The Seattle Times: November 29, 2015
By Jim Brunner

Two years ago, state politicians approved a record-setting set of tax breaks to keep Boeing building jets in Everett. Now, thanks to a tax-transparency provision that passed the same year, the precise value of one piece of the tax-break package to the company is becoming public.... READ MORE >

Lindquist gives up appeal of vindictiveness ruling

The News Tribune: November 24, 2015
By: Sean Robinson

Pierce County Prosecutor Mark Lindquist’s office has given up the fight against a judge’s March 31 finding of prosecutorial vindictiveness in a long-running sex-abuse case. The decision, a motion filed Monday with the Washington State Court of Appeals, withdraws the prosecutor’s appeal of a lower court’s... READ MORE >

Governor Inslee receives open government award

Washington Policy Center: October 22, 2015
By: Jason Mercier

Earlier this month the Washington Newspaper Publishers Association awarded Governor Inslee with its Walter C. Woodward Freedom’s Light Award. This award recognizes commitment to open government and freedom of the press. Read More>> READ MORE >

UW can’t continue to skirt open-meeting law

The Seattle Times: October 23, 2015
By: Seattle Times editorial board

ANY violation of Washington’s Open Public Meetings Act by a governmental board or council is unacceptable — it is an attempt to keep the people’s business secret. Yet the University of Washington’s Board of Regents has shown a consistent pattern of making decisions in... READ MORE >

Freedom Level Supporters
DWT3Large CRC Stacked Logo Toby Nixon

William Crittenden

James Madison Level Supporters
Thomas Jefferson Level Supporters

Patience Rogge

Margaret Pak Enslow

 Sam Pace

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.