Bunting Award.

Bunting Award

Now accepting nominations!
Deadline: July 1, 2020

The Washington Coalition for Open Government is now accepting nominations for the annual Kenneth F. Bunting Award. Nominations may include any journalistic work published, broadcast or posted between June 1, 2019 and May 31, 2020.

This award is presented to organizations or individuals for journalistic work that utilizes, advances, or educates about the state’s Open Public Meetings Act/Public Records Act.

The award will be presented at the annual Madison Andersen Awards Breakfast, tentatively scheduled for Sept. 18, 2020.

Past Recipients

+2018 - Rachel La Corte & Media Organizations Throughout the State

Rachel La Corte
Legislative Reporter for the Associated Press

Susanna Frame, 2017 winner, and WCOG President Toby Nixon present the 2018 Bunting Award to Rachel La Corte.

Rachel La Corte, Associated Press correspondent in Olympia, will receive the Kenneth F. Bunting Award, which recognizes journalistic work that uses, advances or educates about the state’s access laws. La Corte has written numerous articles about legislative attempts to exclude itself from the Public Records Act, notably April 2017 stories about how the 1995 legislature passed a law that it contends exempts the body from the PRA. She also covered SB 6617, passed in less than 48 hours with little floor debate and no public hearings, which was subsequently vetoed by Gov. Jay Inslee.


Media organizations throughout the state
for opinion pieces opposing SB6617

Sharing the 2018 Bunting Award for their part in urging the governor’s veto are media organizations throughout the state. Thirteen daily newspapers ran front-page editorials on Feb. 27 urging Gov. Inslee to veto SB 6617, and encouraging Washingtonians to also contact the governor’s office with their concern. Several television stations ran editorial commentary urging the same; and most of the state’s weekly newspapers, including at least two college papers, plus online news sites ran opinion pieces opposing SB 6617.

+2017 - Susannah Frame

Lori Matsukawa (right) accepting the 2017 Kenneth F. Bunting  Award on behalf of winner Susannah Frame, with WCOG president Toby Nixon (left). Photo by Marcus R. Donner.
Susannah Frame pictured below.

+2016 - Sean Robinson

Click Here to download the press release

2016 Kenneth F. Bunting  award recipient, Sean Robinson,  of The News Tribune accepting his award with WCOG Communications Consultant, Juli Bunting.

+2015 - The Seattle Times

Click Here to download the press release

2015-WashCOG_Bunting2015 Kenneth F. Bunting award recipients, Lewis Kamb and James Neff – accepting on behalf of the Loaded with Lead reporters of The Seattle Times with WCOG President Toby Nixon and Juli Bunting, WCOG Communications Consultant.
Photo by Marcus R. Donner © 2015