Ballard/Thompson Award.

Ballard/Thompson Award

The Ballard/Thompson Award is named in honor of former Speaker of the House (R) Clyde Ballard and former Chief Clerk of the House, Representative, and Senator (D) Alan Thompson; both founding members of WCOG. The award will be presented on an annual basis beginning in 2011, provided there is a recipient who meets the criteria set by WCOG.

The Ballard/Thompson Award – Presented to a member or members of the state legislature who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the cause of open government during the previous legislative session.

2017 – State Senator Mark Miloscia and State Representative Joan McBride

The Washington Coalition for Open Government announced it will honor State Representative Joan McBride (D-48th District, Kirkland) and State Senator Mark Miloscia (R-30th District, Federal Way) with the organization’s Ballard-Thompson Award for 2017.

McBride and Miloscia are being honored for their efforts to improve public agency performance and accountability in their compliance with Washington’s Public Records Act, as embodied in Engrossed Substitute House Bill 1594.

The Ballard-Thompson Award will be presented to McBride and Miloscia at an event to be held during the 2018 legislative session in Olympia. Details of the event will be announced at a later date.

Past Recipients

+2015 - Senator Reuven Carlyle


2015 Ballard/Thompson Award winner Senator Reuven Carlyle (left) with WCOG President Toby Nixon (right).

+2014 - Senator Joe Fain


2014 Ballard/Thompson Award winner Senator Joe Fain (right) with WCOG President Toby Nixon (left).

+2013 - Speaker of the House Frank Chopp

2013 Ballard/Thompson Award winner Speaker Frank Chopp (center) with WCOG President Toby Nixon (left) and former Senator Alan Thompson (right).

+2012 - Senator Bob Morton

2012 Ballard/Thompson Award winner Senator Bob Morton(center) with WCOG President Toby Nixon (left) and former Senator Alan Thompson (right).